wedding, I attended…

Hey…

Recently I attended wedding of my younger cousin sister at my home town… It was just awesome. Being Indian, you cannot afford to hate colorful functions that happen to happen almost 365 days of the year. But attending one such function and that too wedding which is dream of every girl (Actually in India, it is bride’s Parents’ dream and too some extent man’s only chance to you know what…but its changing people say…I don’t see the change though)

So I was at the wedding in colorful Kurta Pyjama which I had to wear, will go into details later. But for now I was well dressed for a little ceremony before big wedding day and waiting for groom and his family and friends to come; chattering usual talks when you meet relatives after a while.  One more reason I love attending close family functions is that you are someone other than just a guest, you have a role to play and I was elder brother of the bride and being of almost same age, a close friend too.

So there I was waiting talking to relatives, here at such parties we meet few relatives, and these are kind of people you only get to meet at the weddings coz both parties (ours and these people) don’t bother to meet at any other places or even invite you to meet at their places. These relatives include Cousin’s in-laws, paternal cousin’s maternal cousins, and some more complicated relations that India is famous about. Personally I sometimes forget my own Aunts’ names (also the count, it’s just slightly close to infinity) and confuse them with altogether different Aunt that I once met somewhere I can’t recollect. One advice, don’t even bother to ask them who you are…then you are just announced dumb in whole your family people. Talk to them like you are highly delighted to meet them.

Typical question at functions is “Where are you now and what do you do now?”

If you have a brother (no matter elder or younger) be sure that you will be confused being the other one. I have a younger brother and everyone forgets our name or just interchanges them, this is the most annoying thing other than the few relatives mostly Aunties you meet at the weddings. And my younger brother looks like my elder brother (how perfect is that!). He’s heighted than me and is more mature than me too.

So they ask me “How’s your Dada?” (My brother doesn’t even call me that) before wedding I joined my first job and had just 8 months experience of working after my graduation. I was 22 at that time and bride and my brother of same age 20. These relatives ask you all sort of questions related to job and simply pesters you, anyways there’s nothing to do for us to do than sitting in front of the stage and look at the rituals done by Bride, groom and the Priest (Guruji, maharaj, bhadaji panditji whatever you call…another character making unending and to an extent impossible demands in the name of god’s offerings for the pooja)

One of my Aunt’s asked me teasingly “You must be very happy that your Dada has got a job, it must be partying time for you…you can buy whatever you want to buy anytime

I smiled uncomfortably and told her “I am that unfortunate Dada being robbed

They ask you “What do you do at office?” “What are office timings?

If you’ve joined software company…questions are familiar and typical “When are you going abroad?”

I being in Support project in a Software company (reputed some people might want to add, but I doubt that), I work in shifts; one of my grandparents brother’s wife (another complicated relation) aged 69 asked me

Do they have a bell or ring notifying that shift is over and now you can go home?

She simply made me a mill worker. I told her no, she was surprised then how you know that shift is over, I told her

We take a look at our watches time to time to see the time

There are endless questions and you have to answer them showing interest and in a way that the question was asked only once and it’s a unique question by only them.

It was one topic to discuss or to pester. Other one is your marriage. Aunts at such functions work as marriage bureau and only they have a perfect girl for you. They don’t talk to you directly. They go round n round talking to you, but with parents they are crystal clear

You’re son is good looking and now has got a good job, it’s time for his marriage” And funny thing there is one eligible girl waiting for us in their vicinity, so they continue “My (another complicated relation here) has a daughter and she has done a fashion designing course and now she’s doing cookery classes”

I mean how perfect, that girl is good cook plus good looks are assumed. These people just can’t give up so easily if said no…another one is ready to be presented.

If said no again then they are in the role of very caring person and tell your parents ‘what has happened to –another complicated relation-‘s son who fell in love with a girl and did inter caste marriage which is gloomy thing happened to that boy’s mother and that girl has made that poor life’s life a hell.

Come on guys, love marriages are not that bad…person marries another one after thinking a lot about that and in India first about our parents. Few makes mistakes, which is human behavior, I guess.

But your mother starts worrying and chooses your clothes for function making you presentable.

Same thing happened to my cousin sister whose wedding I was attending, she dressed for her elder sister’s a year ago in Saari selected by her mother (She wore that Saree for the first time, she told me that afterwards) and now here she is married when she completed her graduation. But now she’s happy.

This used to happen to girls mostly before. But as people say time’s changing this habit also changed.  Other than inter-caste marriages parents have another worry of their son telling them, he like’s men and it’s over.

But at the end you cannot avoid such functions. One thing you can do go prepared and enjoy your time there fullest like I did.

Leave a Reply

